Obviously, everybody’s idea of a full-time income will be different. My own number was $3000/month when I first started out, which equaled to $100/day. For our calculations in this post, let’s also use $100/day, as that seems to be one of the biggest milestones people want to reach with their own websites.
When I see people talk about Adsense, I see a lot of discussion about profitable niches, cost per click, making a full-time income, etc but I never see much discussion about traffic. I see forum threads everyday of people wanting to learn how to reach $100/day with Adsense.
At the end of the day it’s all about traffic. There are many factors that affect a site’s overall income, but lots of traffic is the common denominator.
So how much traffic do you really need to get to $100/day with Adsense?
For me, I was able to reach a full-time income when I was consistently getting over 150,000 visitors per month. I wasn’t just getting that with one website though. Traffic was spread throughout about 20 sites, with 3 of them generating 90% of that.
Am I saying 150,000 visitors/month will always equal $100/day?
Of course not. It could be lower, or even much higher than that. There are so many factors in play that it’s going to be different for everybody. But, it’s a close estimation.
How To Get Your Site Approved For Google Adsense
So how do you calculate it?
The biggest metric you need to calculate Adsense income for a website is RPM.
What is RPM?
Basically it’s the calculation of how much money you made per 1000 visitors. It’s calculated based on your traffic, CTR (click-through-rate), and CPC (cost per click). The average RPM I’ve experienced with Adsense is about $5 to $10 for broad niches and up to $100 for more competitive niches with high CPC.
If you’re able to know your RPM, you can accurately estimate earnings potentials for higher traffic numbers, as well as the amount of traffic you’ll need to make a full-time income.
For instance, if you’re making an average $10 RPM from one of your websites, that’s $10 for every 1000 visitors on your site.
So you can easily calculate that if you increased your traffic to 100,000 visitors, you would make $1000. If you grew it it 1,000,000 you would make $10,000. Again, not perfectly accurate, but a good estimation.
Traffic Required to Make $100/Day
Let’s break down the numbers even further with some example metrics.
We’ll try to use numbers as close to average as possible. For this example, we’ll use a $1 CPC and a 5% CTR. So how much traffic do we need to make $100 per day with those figures?
First, we need to figure out how many clicks equates to $100.
100 / 1 = 100 clicks.
If we need 100 clicks at 5% CTR, the total traffic must be…
100 / 0.05 = 2,000.
We need 2,000 visitors a day. Per month, that is…
2,000 x 30 = 60,000.
60,000 visitors every month to make $100/day with Adsense. Of course, this is just an estimation using very ideal metric figures. It’s not easy to maintain an average CPC of $1+, and CPC is a giant factor in how much traffic you’ll require to reach this figure.
Some of my blogs consistently get over 10% CTR, while others get under 2%. Some of my sites get CPC of $2-$5, while others never get higher $0.30.
Can you guess what the RPM is on the example site above?
If you answered $50, you’re correct. Remember, RPM is how much you would make for 1000 visitors on your website. If you got 1000 visitors at $1 CPC and a 5% CTR, that’s 50 clicks (5% of 1000) at $1 earned per click.
A $50 RPM is really great. If I were getting $50 RPM on a site, I would really start building it out with more posts and meaty content to boost those traffic figures.
You can then calculate estimated income based on your future traffic goals.
If you were to increase traffic on the site to 500,000 visitors a month, that is $25,000 a month.
Read this next:
How Jack Herrick Built A Million Dollar Adsense Site… Twice